Positively Yours is a drama that hooked me from episode one. I fell in love with the female lead almost immediately because she's just so cute and easy to root for.
Also, can we talk about the fact that we get a literal one-night stand in the very first episode? No slow burn, no ten episodes of awkward eye contact-nope. Straight to the point. And let me tell you... It was steamy.
The show technically falls into the usual office romance trope, but it throws in the added chaos of a pregnancy after a one-night stand. And honestly? I loved that.
What I really appreciated about this drama is that it focused on the romance itself instead of constantly throwing ridiculous obstacles in the way of the leads. Sometimes dramas drag things out with endless breakups, misunderstandings, and dramatic "we can't be together" speeches... even though everyone watching knows they're obviously endgame. After a while, that kind of back-and-forth just gets exhausting.
Around episode six or seven, I actually started to worry the show was heading in that direction, and I dropped it for a couple of days. But when I came back, I was pleasantly surprised to find out the drama didn't pull that nonsense at all.
Instead, it stayed focused on what it was really about: two people who are suddenly connected in a very real way, learning how to build a relationship together. Watching them slowly fall in love while working through their past trauma was honestly really sweet.
Another thing I appreciated was that it didn't fall in the classic "marrying up" trope. You know the one, where the Rih family hates the relationship and spends the entire drama trying to sabotage it. Thankfully, we didn't get smacked with that wall of disapproval here, and it was honestly refreshing.
I also really liked that we got to see the coworkers' reactions when everything came out. In some dramas lately, that part just kind of gets skipped over, which always feels weird. Here, we actually got to see how people reacted, and everyone was surprisingly chill about it. It made the whole situation feel more complete instead of leaving that awkward gap.
The side characters did have their own little love story, but it wasn't very developed. Normally, that would bother me because I hate unfinished side plots... but in this case, I honestly wasn't invested enough in it to be mad about it.
Overall, the drama felt like it knew exactly what kind of story it wanted to tell, and it executed that vision really well.
And on a side note, it gave me similar vibes to Dynamite Kiss, which got released late last year.
So if you're in the mood for a sweet romance with a slightly chaotic starting point (and honestly a very bold first episode), you should definitely add Positively Yours to your list.